History of the American Flag

The American flag, known as the “Stars and Stripes,” has undergone several significant transformations throughout its history. Each version of the flag reflects pivotal moments in the nation’s growth and development. Here, we explore the evolution of the American flag, focusing on key designs such as the “Continental Colors,” the “Betsy Ross Flag,” the 15-star and 15-stripe flag, the 20-star and 13-stripe flag, and the current flag with 50 stars and 13 stripes.

The Continental Colors or Grand Union Flag

The first flag to represent the American colonies was the “Continental Colors,” also known as the “Grand Union Flag.” It was introduced in late 1775 and used throughout 1776. This flag featured 13 alternating red and white stripes, symbolizing the original 13 colonies, but its canton (the top left corner) displayed the British Union Jack. This design reflected the colonies’ desire for unity while still expressing loyalty to the British Crown. The flag was flown at the Continental Army’s camp at Prospect Hill in January 1776, marking the beginning of its association with the fight for independence.

The Betsy Ross Flag

Despite having a legend surrounding it, the “Betsy Ross Flag” is one of the most recognizable early American flags. According to popular but unverified stories, Betsy Ross, a seamstress from Philadelphia, sewed the first American flag at the request of General George Washington and other members of a congressional committee in 1776. This flag featured 13 stars arranged in a circle on a blue field, representing unity among the original 13 colonies. The alternating red and white stripes continued to symbolize the colonies’ struggle for independence. Despite the lack of historical evidence confirming Ross’s role, the flag remains a cherished symbol of American heritage.

The 15-Star and 15-Stripe Flag (1794–1818)

Following the admission of Vermont and Kentucky to the Union, the flag was altered to include 15 stars and 15 stripes. This version of the flag was used from 1794 until 1818. Known as the “Star-Spangled Banner,” it gained historical significance during the War of 1812. It was the sight of this flag flying over Fort McHenry after a night of heavy bombardment that inspired Francis Scott Key to write the poem that would become the national anthem of the United States. However, as more states joined the Union, it became clear that adding both a star and a stripe for each new state would soon become impractical.

The 20-Star and 13-Stripe Flag (1818-1819)

In response to the growing number of states, Congress passed the Second Flag Act in 1818, which restored the original 13 stripes to honor the original colonies and specified that a new star would be added for each new state. The first flag under this new legislation featured 20 stars, reflecting the admission of five new states since the 1795 act. This flag was used from July 4, 1818, to July 3, 1819, a brief period that marked the transition to a more flexible flag design policy. This design set a precedent for future changes, ensuring the flag could grow with the nation while maintaining its core symbolism.

The Current Flag of the United States

The most recent change to the American flag occurred on July 4, 1960, following Hawaii’s admission as the 50th state. The current flag features 50 white stars arranged in nine rows of alternating five and six stars on a blue field, with 13 horizontal stripes, seven red and six white. These stripes continue to represent the original 13 colonies, while the stars symbolize each state in the Union. The colors of the flag hold deep significance: red for valor and bravery, white for purity and innocence, and blue for vigilance, perseverance, and justice.


The American flag has undergone numerous changes since its inception, each iteration reflecting the nation’s expansion and evolving identity. From the early days of the Continental Colors and the legend of the Betsy Ross Flag to the practical redesigns of the 15-star and 15-stripe flag and the adoption of the 20-star and 13-stripe flag, the history of the American flag is a testament to the United States’ resilience and unity. Today, the flag with 50 stars and 13 stripes stands as a powerful symbol of the country’s history, values, and commitment to freedom and justice for all.


“The American Flag and Other National Symbols.” USAGov. Accessed June 5, 2024. https://www.usa.gov/flag.

“Making the Flag.” NMAH | Making the Flag. Accessed June 5, 2024. https://amhistory.si.edu/starspangledbanner/making-the-flag.aspx.

Smithsonian Institution. “Star-Spangled Banner.” Smithsonian Institution. Accessed June 5, 2024. https://www.si.edu/spotlight/flag-day/banner-facts

Leave a Comment